This Outlook quick tip is in response to a question asked by an Outlook user who recently upgraded to Outlook 2010. It applies to all versions of Outlook released since.
"In Outlook 2003 it was possible to set an option so that when I deleted a message, it would automatically take me to the next message. I can't find that option in Outlook 2010. When I delete, it takes me back to the list of messages."
In Outlook 2010 and newer, open the File, Options dialog. The last item on the Mail page is the option for controlling what happens after moving or deleting an item.